菜单 购物车
2
FAQ zh

芝加哥

city​​_name_extended_translated 的 芝加哥

持有 CityPASS 后,最佳 5 芝加哥景点 VIP 门票可节省 53% 的费用。

从规模最大和最完整的霸王龙到现代杰作艺术,Chicago都拥有了。因为这些一流的博物馆旨在启发丶教育和鼓励,也因此它被称为“开拓视野之城”。无论是艺术博物馆的大型收藏或是在美国第一间天文馆更了解地球和太阳系,都可在Chicago找到。这里是最标志性的博物馆,请把他们加入您的行程中。


芝加哥艺术学院

正如从Skydeck Chicago俯视Chicago的城市美景让您惊叹,Art Institute of Chicago中的艺术品也将会让您叹为观止。

在这一宏伟博物馆的高墙内,是无数来自全美和世界各地的古典和当代艺术展品。Art Instituite里面,有144画廊(Gallery 114),这是一个著名Chicago建筑复制品的展区,包括有毕加索自己创造的一个复制品。 这仅仅是Art Institute为游客提供的完整芝加哥体验之一,CityPASS的珍贵合作伙伴。

有趣的事实
有一些人说,Chicago可能拥有世界上最好的热狗,但Chicago还有另一种满足非味蕾的“最好”:它拥有世界上最好的艺术博物馆。那是对的。 2014年,猫途鹰(TripAdvisor)将The Art Institute of Chicago评为世界上最好的博物馆。 The Art Institute of Chicago是美国第二大艺术博物馆,一直受到全世界游客的喜爱,是一个标志性景点,每个到Chicago游览的人都不会错过。

会看到什么
在The Art Institute of Chicago中,探索4000年美术史中的550多件作品,这是世界上最全的藏品系列之一。

其中最著名的收藏之一,世界上第二大印象派艺术收藏品,一直吸引着游客络绎不绝的前来参观。您将会亲眼看到莫奈、德加、梵高等大师的艺术作品。同时展出的还有Andy Warhol 和Mark Rothko的当代作品,来自东亚的珠宝和陶器,以及非洲、印度和亚洲的古老艺术。博物馆的现代之翼(Modern Wing)拥有一些热切盼望的游客最钟爱的艺术品,而其中最受欢迎的是索恩迷你房间(Thorne Miniature Rooms)。 这些复制品基于一英寸比一英尺的比例制作,模仿了从13世纪欧洲内部装饰,到17世纪美国内部装饰,一直再到20世纪30年代的装饰结构,细节的制作让人难以置信。

您还可以和正门口两只宏伟的铜狮拍一张照片。一只“显示出的是挑战的姿势”,而另一只则“正在徘徊。”

行前小贴士
穿着舒适的鞋子。The Art Institute of Chicago是一座非常大的建筑,而现代之翼(Modern Wing)是和其它展厅分开的,需从千禧公园(Millennium Park)旁边的入口进入。由于博物馆拥有数千件艺术作品供观赏和探索,如果您自己一路观赏,将会是一个很艰巨的任务。

因此,导览。语音导览不仅有助于深入了解每件艺术作品的重要性和历史,导览过程中集中思想了解展品,当您离开时,会非常清楚的知道您已经看到了最著名的艺术作品。最重要的是,如果有CityPASS,导览是完全免费的!

因为这个博物馆是非常大的,所以最好腾出一整天的时间游览(或者计划再次游览,那会更好)。但周四,您可以较晚开始参观,因为博物馆会一直开到晚上8点。像大多数博物馆一样,the Art Institute of Chicago在感恩节、圣诞节和元旦不开放。

科学工业博物馆

芝加哥(Chicago)是一个大城市。不过,即使在这个大城市,大型博物馆也是如此具有魅力和令人神往的,探索遍每个博物馆的每一处角落可能需要数天的时间。科学工业博物馆(The Museum of Science & Industry)没有什么不同。该博物馆拥有40万平方英尺的获奖展区和35000件工艺品,想要一小时内走遍这一令人惊叹且展品多样化的博物馆是不可能的。幸运的是,CityPASS,您可以快速通过排队队伍,直达最佳展区且拥有更多时间去探索。

有趣的事实
MSI自1933年开放,它的建成是因为那时一位家长从他好奇的孩子迷恋一个互动式的博物馆展览中得到了启发。灵感迸发的那一瞬现如今已变成了西半球最大的科学博物馆。

该看什么
MSI被认为是世界上最好的科学博物馆之一,因为不断更新的展品反映时代的变化和技术的持续进步,同时还有展品能够详细交互地探索过去。

虽然其他的博物馆也记录过去,但MSI一直向前看,其对明天的期望很好地体现在最先进的项目和展品中。许多付钱参观MSI的人都喜欢永久展品,像引人入胜的德国潜艇U-导览,,通过这样的导览,大自然的一切力量都被装在一个房间中任由您进行观察和操作,而您就是培训中的一名科学家。儿童和成人一定都会因为可以控制雷电、火灾、海啸和40英尺范围的龙卷风而深深着迷。

该博物馆中最受欢迎的一处展品是小鸡孵化场—— 您可以看到小鸡破壳而出并踏出它们的第一步。另一个有趣的体验是镜子迷宫,是 Numbers in Nature 展览的一部分。看看您是否能找到暗藏玄机的房间,并且您可能不得不发挥出一些数学技能!

行前小贴士
ityPass套票,除了一部全天域电影以外(身临其境的动感球幕影院),游客还可以在一个运动模拟骑行器中预定座位。

通常情况下,U-505潜艇展需支付额外费用,ityPass套票就可以免费入场。您拥有越多的时间去探索MSI体验会越好。拥有这么多的展览和全天域电影节目,在MSI待上一整天以获得一段真正有价值的体验才是最好的选择。

菲尔德博物馆

The Field Museum保存了各式各样的作品丶通过艺术丶雕塑丶文物和互动活动将纸上历史栩栩如生呈现出。The Field Museum最着名的是霸王龙SUE,她的化石是馆内的荣光。但这里也有您在其它地方无法找到的体验。

有趣事实
只有在The Field Museum您才能看到SUE,这是迄今发现的世界上最完整的霸王龙骨架,另外,还可以探索古埃及5000年的陵墓,是美国最大的木乃伊收藏品之一。

该看什么
SUE或许是您第一个看见的展品,因为她就在大堂的中心欢迎访客。The Field Museum 还展示关于SUE的3D电影“唤醒沉睡的霸王龙”,您能在影片中学到所有关于这个知名恐龙的一切。孩子们可做的一件趣事就是拍张从SUE“逃跑”的照片。仅此一点就使The Field Museum成为世界上最令人难忘的一间博物馆,但馆内也有许值得多地方值得探索。

这里还有一个为期至2017年12月的临时展览"地下冒险"(Underground Adventure)。在这个展览中,游客将缩小至身体1/100的大小然后潜入泥土。您将探索蠕虫隧道和土巢丶土壤中的生命(见到小龙虾丶狼蛛和蝼蛄)的多样性,并且学到土壤的重要性。这个展览需要另外的门票。

探索食人狮察沃在1898年对非洲村庄造成威胁,杀死了135人的揪心故事;您会在展览看到狮子的头骨和皮毛做成的栩栩如生的标本。

行前了解
The Field Museum的开放时间为每天早上9点至下午5点,圣诞节除外。然而,最后的入馆时间是每天下午4点,但您会希望有更多的一个小时来欣赏收藏。使用Chicago CityPASS,在博物馆商店购买超过25美元,您就可以以九折优惠观看数字3D电影。以折扣价购买临时展览的门票来升级自己的体验。

对于更多的虚拟体验,请下载Field Museum应用程序来创建自己的 导览,遵循预先制作导览说明,并使用应用程序的额外功能,例如幕后花絮影片和科学家的访问。

阿德勒天文馆

每人至少都会抬头仰望星空一次。在 Adler Planetarium 不仅可以观察星星,还可以在三座大型剧院里沉浸于宇宙奥妙之中,那里有世界上最大和最有意义的古董天文科学仪器收藏之一,提供令人惊叹的各种太空展览。

有趣事实
Adler Planetarium 是美国第一个天文馆,于 1930 年正式开放 。1987 年它成为美国历史悠久的国家地标。该天文馆坐落于密歇根湖沿岸,拥有湖泊和城市天际线的美丽景色。

看什么
正如 Museum of Science & Industry 让游客探索这座星球的奇观一样,Adler Planetarium 使游客能够探索不可企及的地方。

Atwood Sphere 展览呈现的是 1913 年的芝加哥夜空,向游客展示在没有灯光污染的情况下描绘夜空的真正色彩。这是令人惊奇并身临其境的体验,让人全新领略黑暗的魅力。

成年人会喜欢 Space Visualization Lab,在这里专家、科学家、教育家和艺术家一起合作,通过互动展品和可视化以及来自天文学和其他领域专家的现场演示将太空探索呈现给大众。

参观宇航员 Buzz Aldrin 和 Jim Lovell 呆过四天的真正的 Gemini 12 号太空舱 - 空间竟是如此狭小! 还可以收听 Mission Control 和 Apollo 13 上的工作人员之间进行的实际通话。在 Exploring Our Solar System 展览中,可以触摸月球、火星、谷神星、灶神星上的物体碎片,并与科学家交谈。

每月第三个周四下午 6 点到晚上10 点都有月度特别活动 "Adler After Dark",这是为 21 岁以上成年人举办的一场独特而精彩的活动,包含晚间约会、鸡尾酒会、剧院夜空景象、特邀嘉宾讲座和现场娱乐等内容。欢迎为本月第三个周四的参观做好准备,这是非常值得参加的活动。

行前须知
如果您决定参加 Adler After Dark 活动,可使用 Chicago CityPASS 套票中获得的 5 美元门票价格优惠。此外,在Adler Store 和 Café Galileo 还可享有10%的折扣。

当代艺术博物馆

Museum of Contemporary Art 是一座建筑杰作,里面收藏了一些世界上最重要的创作瑰宝。不仅有二战后的艺术家,如弗里达·卡罗、亚历山大考尔德、安迪·沃霍尔的作品,更展现了超现实主义、极简主义、波普艺术以及后现代主义的艺术风格。

Museum of Contemporary Art 通过现场表演和引人入胜的节目教育和启迪人们对艺术的新鲜好奇,将对艺术的探索提升到一个全新境界。

有趣事实
MCA 拥有悠久的发掘和探索艺术的历史。自 1967 年第一次开业以来,新兴艺术家均有机会在 MCA 的墙壁上证明自己的价值。事实上,正是 Museum of Contemporary 举办了弗里达·卡罗的首次展览,而如今她被公认为最伟大的画家之一。至今,MCA 仍保持着这些艺术作品真正的价值。

看什么
Museum of Contemporary Art 是 Chicago 的必游之地。每趟 MCA 之旅都会有不同的体验,总有足够的理由让人一遍又一遍地观赏这座独特的博物馆。

该博物馆的运营方式类似于画廊,整年都会展出不同的作品,始终将最前沿的艺术作品带到大众眼前。当代作品的大量展示使 MCA 成为芝加哥和世界上最独特及最受人喜爱的博物馆之一。

博物馆中有一座标志性作品,在任何时候都绝对值得一看,因为它正是博物馆本身的一部份:主楼梯。该楼梯是令人炫目的建筑杰作,其本身已成为一个景点。与画廊空间的空白墙壁相比,该楼梯以其持久耐用脱颖而出。

MCA 确实有许多永久收藏,其中包括 2500 多件艺术作品,但不会一直展出。相反,永久收藏的各种珍品都是轮流展览,使每次的 MCA 体验都不尽相同。

MCA 最大的特色是“大胆创新”,其次是美丽迷人。仅参观这座博物馆一次绝对无法真正领略其魅力。博物馆建筑本身就是一件现代艺术作品。

行前须知
该博物馆提供免费导览,如果想体验令人陶醉的当代艺术之旅,欢迎前来参加导览观赏。 家庭日可以让孩子们进行艺术创作、修改和实验。

墨西哥国家艺术博物馆

Chicago是一个不折不扣的文化城市。如果您在Chicago Adler Planetarium的星星中看到世界,您会在National Museum of Mexican Art看到充满活力和美丽的新天地。在这里,艺术表现永不设限,您将探索墨西哥文化无国界的复杂性。

有趣事实
博物馆最初是由一群Chicago 教师使用900美元的预算筹建,目前已经转变成一个充满活力的地方,现在是美国最大型亡灵日庆祝活动的主办地点。2015年,超过10000人来到National Museum of Mexican Art来庆祝墨西哥的重要节日。

该看什么
National Museum of Mexican Art 是全国最好的拉丁裔博物馆之一,并且是美国博物馆联盟认可的唯一一个。这意味着,每个展品必须有一定的艺术和文化价值,每一个作品都须具有丰富的历史和艺术表现力。许多游客的评论证明,亡灵节展览是迄今为止最受欢迎的。National Museum of Mexican Art 展示50多位来自墨西哥和美国的墨西哥艺术家作品,藉以探索这一个灵性节日的根源。它是该国最大的亡灵节年度展。

虽然National Museum of Mexican Art比邻近的Chicago艺术博物馆小得多,由于与众不同的收藏品之故,它已经成为Chicago 艺术文化的主干。馆内民间艺术的收藏,包括着名墨西哥艺术家的各种陶瓷丶面具丶木雕,甚至纸工艺品。

永久展览 我们的历史:墨西哥认同的探索(Nuestra Historias:Highlighting the Mexican Identity) 展示博物馆馆长所称的“最佳收藏”并聚焦北美墨西哥认同的各种故事。它包括鲁本·奥尔蒂斯 - 托雷斯的 《 人间乐园》丶一台致敬绿化工人的华丽低底盘割草机丶和亚历杭德·罗迪亚兹的 "只要玉米饼,不要战争"(Make Tacos Not War)粉红色霓虹灯

除了画像和雕塑这些传统的美术馆艺术品外,您还能在National Museum of Mexican Art欣赏到老式日历丶明信片丶教堂和当地习俗的一系列收藏,以及近1000张纪念墨西哥裔美国人的文化活动和电影海报。

行前了解
该博物馆是免费入场,所以您可能会花钱的唯一时间是在博物馆的礼品店——Tienda Tzintzuntzan和Place of the Hummingbird。礼品店中有手工制作的礼物,这只能在致力于墨西哥文化艺术整合的博物馆中才能找到。所有物品都来自墨西哥地区,是博物馆的工作人员专门为礼品店制作的。

博物馆周二至周日上午10点至下午5点开放,周一闭馆。大多数游客都能够在几个小时内探索完博物馆,对于那些无法一整天都用来欣赏博物馆的人是完美的选择。

如果您正想参观Chicago最好的博物馆,那么请使用 Chicago CityPASS。您会节省近一半的总门票费来参观一些Chicago的各大博物馆和旅游景点。CityPASS持有人在大多数情况下,还可以免去排队购票的烦恼。Chicago CityPASS 包括 Shedd AquariumThe Field MuseumSkydeck ChicagoAdler Planetarium 或者 The Art Institute of Chicago360 CHICAGO 或者 The Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago的门票。一些特殊展览并不包括在 CityPASS中,并且可能需要额外的费用。

CityPASS 可以在网上或在任何我们参与的 芝加哥景点购买 。使用 Chicago CityPASS 并发现芝加哥的顶级博物馆和 要做的事情

当代艺术博物馆图片来源
墨西哥国家 艺术博物馆 图片来源

Chicago CityPASS 基于 4.7/57481 而有。

Menu Cart
2
FAQ en

Chicago

Top Museums In Chicago

Save 53% on VIP admission to the top 5 Chicago attractions with CityPASS.

From the largest and most complete T-Rex to masterpieces and modern art, Chicago has it all. No wonder it’s called the "City of Broad Horizons," as top-notch museums aim to enlighten, educate and inspire. Whether it’s the vast collections at the Art Institute or learning more about planet earth and the solar system at America’s first planetarium it’s all in Chicago. Here are the most iconic museum stops to include on your itinerary.


Art Institute of Chicago

Just as the aerial view of the Chicago cityscape from Skydeck Chicago takes your breath away, so will the art of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Within the walls of this grand museum are endless exhibits of both classic and contemporary artwork from around the nation and world. Inside the Art Institute is Gallery 144, an exhibit of replicas of famous Chicago structures, including one replica created by Picasso himself. This is just one of the ways the Art Institute of Chicago provides visitors with the full Chicago experience, and it’s also why they’re a treasured CityPASS partner.

Fun Fact
Chicago may have arguably the best hot dogs in the world, but Chicago has another "best" that goes beyond taste bud satisfaction: the best art museum in the world. That's right. In 2014, TripAdvisor named The Art Institute of Chicago the best museum in the world. The Art Institute of Chicago is the second largest art museum in the United States and remains a global favorite and an iconic, can’t-miss stop for any visit to Chicago.

What to See
Explore over 550 works from 4,000 years of art in the Art Institute of Chicago, one of the most comprehensive collections in the world.

The impressionist art collection, the second biggest in the world, is one of the most popular, drawing regular crowds. You’ll get a first-hand look at the art of such masters as Monet, Degas, and Van Gogh. Also on display is contemporary work from Andy Warhol and Mark Rothko, jewelry and pottery from East Asia, and ancient art from Africa, India, and Asia. The Modern Wing of the museum holds the most beloved artwork for certain eager visitors, and a favorite has come to be the Thorne Miniature Rooms. Built on a scale of one inch to one foot, these replicas imitate the constructs of European interiors from the 13th century to the American interiors from the 17th century all the way through the 1930s and all in incredible detail.

Take a photo at the main entrance with two magnificent bronze lions. One stands "in an attitude of defiance" and the other is "on the prowl."

Know Before You Go
Wear comfortable shoes - the Art Institute of Chicago is an extremely large building, and the Modern Wing is separate from the rest of the collection with its own entrance next to Millennium Park. There are thousands of works of art to see and exploring the collections on your own can be a daunting task.

First-time visitors are recommended to take the audio tour. The audio tour not only gives insight into the importance and history of each work of art, but you get a focused tour through the museum so you can leave knowing you’ve seen the most renowned works of art. Best of all, audio tours are completely free with CityPASS!

Because the museum is so vast, it’s best to dedicate an entire day for exploration (or better yet – plan to come back!). But on Thursdays you can plan for a later start, as the museum stays open until 8:00pm. Like most museums, the Art Institute of Chicago is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day.

Museum of Science & Industry

Chicago is a big city. But even within the big city are big museums that are so fascinating and inviting, it could take days to explore each one from corner to corner. The Museum of Science & Industry is no different. With 400,000 square feet of award-winning exhibits and 35,000 artifacts, there is simply no way to walk through this amazing and diverse museum in under an hour. Fortunately, with a Chicago CityPASS, you’ll zip past the lines and get right to the best exhibits with more time to explore.

Fun Fact
The MSI has been open since 1933, when a parent was inspired by his curious child’s fascination with an interactive museum display. That moment of inspiration has morphed into the largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere.

What to See
The MSI is considered one of the best science museums in the world because the constantly updated exhibits reflect the changing times and continual advancement of technology while still holding exhibits that explore the past at a detailed interactive level.

While other museums document the past, MSI is always looking forward, and the expectations for tomorrow reflect well in their state-of-the-art programs and exhibits. Many of those who have paid a visit to MSI have enjoyed the permanent exhibits like the fascinating interactive tour of the German submarine U-505 and the Science Storms, in which all forces of nature are contained in one room to be observed and manipulated by you, a scientist-in-training. Lightning, fire, tsunamis, and a 40-foot tornado you can control are sure to enthrall both children and adults.

One of the most popular exhibits at the Museum is the baby chick hatchery – you can see the chicks peck their way out of their shells and take their first steps. Another fun experience is the mirror maze, part of the Numbers in Nature exhibit. See if you can find the hidden mystery room and you might have to pull out some math skills!

Know Before You Go
With a CityPASS booklet, visitors can reserve a seat in a motion simulator ride in addition to one of the omnimax shows (the immersive dome theatre).

Normally, the U-505 Submarine exhibit comes at an additional cost, but with a CityPASS booklet, admission is free. The more time you have to explore MSI, the better. With so many exhibits and showings available through the omnimax it is best to dedicate one full day to MSI for a truly worthwhile experience.

The Field Museum

The Field Museum encapsulates a variety of exhibits that bring the pages of history to life through works of art, sculptures, artifacts, and interactive activities. The Field Museum is best known for the famous SUE the T. Rex, where she lives in all her fossilized glory. But there are other experiences you won’t find anywhere else.

Fun Fact
Only at The Field Museum can you see SUE, the world’s most complete skeleton of a Tyrannosaurus Rex ever found, AND explore 5,000 year-old tombs from Ancient Egypt, complete with one of the largest collections of mummies in the US.

What to See
SUE is probably your first sight, because she welcomes visitors right in the center of the lobby. The Field Museum also shows a 3D movie about SUE called "Waking the T. Rex" where you can learn all about this celebrity dinosaur. This alone makes the Field Museum one of the most memorable in the world, but there’s also so much more to explore.

A temporary exhibit that will be featured until December of 2017 is the Underground Adventure. In this exhibit, visitors get to shrink down to 1/100th of their size to dive into the soil. You’ll explore worm tunnels and soil chambers, the diversity of life within the soil (meeting crayfish, wolf spiders, and mole crickets) and you’ll learn just how important soil really is. This exhibit requires an additional ticket.

Explore the gripping story of the man-eating Tsavo lions, who terrorized an African village in 1898, killing 135 people; the lion’s skulls and skins were used to create the life-like mounts you’ll see in the exhibit.

Know Before You Go
The Field Museum is open every day from 9am-5pm except on Christmas. However, last admission is at 4pm daily, and you would want more than an hour to explore anyway. With Chicago CityPASS, you can have your choice in seeing one digital 3D film in addition to 10% off Museum Store purchases of $25 or more. Upgrade your experience by purchasing tickets to temporary exhibits at a discount.

For a more virtual experience, download the Field Museum app to create your own tour, follow a pre-made one, and get access to extra app goodies like behind-the-scenes footage and interviews with scientists.

Adler Planetarium

Everyone looks up at the stars at least once in a while. At the Adler Planetarium, you not only get to look at the stars, you get the chance to immerse yourself in the wonders of the cosmos with three full-size theatres, one of the largest and most significant collections of antique scientific instruments, and amazing space exhibitions.

Fun Facts
The Adler Planetarium is America’s first planetarium, open since 1930. It became a National Historic Landmark in 1987. It sits right on Lake Michigan and has awesome views of the lake and the city skyline.

What to See
Just as the Museum of Science & Industry allows visitors to explore the wonders of this planet, the Adler Planetarium allows visitors to explore the unreachable.

In the Atwood Sphere exhibit, the night sky over Chicago in 1913 shows visitors the true color that paints the night sky without light pollution. It’s a stunning and immersive experience that will give you a whole new appreciation for darkness.

Adults love the Space Visualization Lab, where experts, scientists, educators, and even artists work together to bring space exploration to the masses through interactive exhibits and visualizations as well as live presentations from experts in astronomy and other fields.

Check out the actual Gemini 12 space capsule where astronauts Buzz Aldrin and Jim Lovell spent four days - it was tight quarters! You can also listen to the actual communications that took place between Mission Control and the crew of Apollo 13. In the Exploring Our Solar System exhibit, you can touch a piece of the Moon, Mars, Ceres, and Vesta, and talk with scientists.

A special once-a-month event that happens every third Thursday of the month from 6:00pm to 10:00pm is Adler After Dark, a 21+ event that brings date nights, cocktails, theatre sky shows, special guest lectures, and live entertainment together in one amazing and totally unique event. Plan your visit for the third Thursday of the month as it’s well worth checking out.

Know Before You Go
If you decide to participate in Adler After Dark, you can get $5 off ticket price with your Chicago CityPASS booklet in addition to a 10% discount at the Adler Store and Café Galileo.

Museum of Contemporary Art

The Museum of Contemporary Art is an architectural masterpiece containing some of the world’s most important creative gems. Post-World War II art of the likes of Frida Kahlo, Alexander Calder, Andy Warhol, and more showcase the styles of surrealism, minimalism, pop art, and postmodernism.

The Museum of Contemporary Art takes art adventure to a whole new level with live performances and indulgent programs that will teach and enlighten any mind curious about art.

Fun Fact
The MCA has a long history of taking chances. After opening its doors for the first time 1967, emerging artists have had the chance to prove their worth on the walls of the MCA. In fact, it was the Museum of Contemporary Art that hosted Frida Kahlo’s debut exhibition, and now she is recognized as one of the greats. To this day, MCA holds true to their values.

What to See
The Museum of Contemporary Art is a Chicago must-see. Every trip to the MCA is different, and there are plenty of reasons to visit this unique museum over and over again.

The museum is run more like an art gallery with exhibits changing throughout the year, always bringing the most cutting-edge art to the public. The flux of contemporary work makes the MCA one of the most unique and beloved museums in Chicago and in the world.

There is one iconic work of art that’s guaranteed to be seen at all times, and that’s because it’s part of the museum itself: the main staircase. A dizzying architectural masterpiece, the staircase has become an attraction all on its own. In contrast with the blank walls of the gallery space, the staircase stands out with permanence.

The MCA does have permanent collections, which include more than 2,500 works of art, but no one piece is displayed constantly. Instead, various pieces from the permanent collection are displayed in rotating exhibits, making every MCA experience different from the last.

Bold is one word to describe the MCA, and beautiful follows close behind. One visit truly does not do this museum justice. Even the building itself is a work of modern art.

Know Before You Go
There are free tours available, so if you’re looking to indulge in the ultimate contemporary art experience, take the tour. Family Days allow little ones to create, tinker, and experiment with art.

National Museum of Mexican Art

Chicago is a cultured city, through and through. If you saw the world in the stars at the Chicago Adler Planetarium, you’ll see a vibrant and beautiful new world in the National Museum of Mexican Art. Here you’ll explore the intricacies of Mexican culture sin fronteras, or without borders, where artistic expression has no limits.

Fun Fact
What was originally started by a group of Chicago schoolteachers with a budget of $900 has transformed into a vibrant museum that is now the host of the largest Day of the Dead celebration in the U.S. In 2015, over 10,000 visitors made their way to the National Museum of Mexican Art to celebrate the important Mexican holiday.

What to See
The National Museum of Mexican Art is one of the best Latino museums in the nation, and is the only one accredited by the American Alliance of Museums. This means that every exhibit must be of a certain artistic and cultural value, and every work is rich in history and artistic expression. Many glowing visitor reviews prove that the Dia de Los Muertos exhibit is by far the most popular. The National Museum of Mexican Art explores the roots of this spiritual holiday by exhibiting works by more than 50 Mexican artists from both Mexico and the United States. It is the largest annual exhibition of Dia de Los Muertos in the country.

Though the museum is much smaller than its big Chicago art neighbors, the National Museum of Mexican Art has become a mainstay of Chicago art culture thanks to collections that are unlike any other. There is a collection of folk art, comprised of a mixture of ceramics, masks, carved wood, and even papier mache from well-known Mexican artists.

The permanent exhibit Nuestra Historias: Highlighting the Mexican Identity displays what has been called by one of the museum’s curators "the best of the collection" and centers on the diverse stories of Mexican identity in North America. It includes Rubén Ortiz-Torres’s The Garden of Earthly Delights, a tricked-out low-rider lawnmower that pays homage to landscaping laborers, and Alejandro Díaz’s pink neon sign Make Tacos Not War.

In addition to the paintings and sculptures that are more of the traditional findings in a museum, the National Museum of Mexican Art holds a collection of vintage calendars, postcards, churches and local customs, and nearly 1,000 posters commemorating Chicano cultural events and movies.

Know Before You Go
The museum is free admission, so the only time you might spend money is at the museum’s gift shop—Tienda Tzintzuntzan or, Place of the Hummingbird. Within the gift shop are handcrafted gifts that can only be found in a museum dedicated to the artistic integrity of Mexican culture. All items are sourced from regions of Mexico by museum staff specifically for the gift shop.

The museum is open Tuesday through Sunday from 10:00am to 5:00pm and closed on Mondays. Most visitors are able to fully explore the museum within a couple of hours, making it the perfect stop for those who don’t have an entire day to devote to museums.

If you're looking to visit the best Chicago museums, use Chicago CityPASS. You'll save nearly half off combined entrance fees to some of the top museums and tourist attractions in Chicago. CityPASS holders also get to skip most ticket lines. Chicago CityPASS includes admission to Shedd Aquarium, The Field Museum, Skydeck Chicago, Adler Planetarium or the Art Institute of Chicago, and 360 CHICAGO or the Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago. Some special exhibits are not included with the CityPASS and may require an extra fee.

CityPASS can be purchased online or at any of our participating Chicago attractions. Use Chicago CityPASS and discover the top museums and things to do in Chicago.

Museumof Contemporary Art Photo Credit
National Museum of Mexican Art Photo Credit

Chicago CityPASS has a rating of 4.8/5 based on 6,520 reviews.