Menu Panier
2
FAQ fr

Chicago

Musées les plus importants dans Chicago

Économisez 53% sur l'entrée VIP aux meilleures 5 attractions de Chicago avec CityPASS.

Du plus grand et plus complet T-Rex aux chefs-d'œuvre et à l'art moderne, Chicago a tout à offrir. Pas étonnant qu'on l'appelle « City of Broad Horizons », puisque ses musées haut de gamme visent à éclairer, éduquer et inspirer. Qu'il s'agisse des vastes collections de l'Art Institute ou d'en apprendre davantage sur la planète Terre et le système solaire au premier planétarium d'Amérique, tout se trouve à Chicago. Voici les musées les plus emblématiques à inclure dans votre itinéraire.


Art Institute of Chicago

Tout comme la vue aérienne du paysage urbain de Chicago depuis le Skydeck Chicago vous couple le souffle, il en sera de même de l'art de l'Art Institute de Chicago.

Entre les murs de ce grand musée se trouvent des expositions intarissables d'œuvres d'art à la fois classiques et contemporaines venant de tous les pays du monde. À l'intérieur de l'Art Institute se trouve la Galerie 144, une exposition de répliques des célèbres structures de Chicago, dont une réplique créée par Picasso lui-même. Ceci est juste l'un des moyens que l'Art Institute of Chicago offre aux visiteurs pour une expérience complète de Chicago, et c'est aussi la raison pour laquelle c'est un précieux partenaire CityPASS.

À noter
Chicago a sans doute les meilleurs hot-dogs du monde, mais Chicago a un autre "atout" qui va au-delà de la satisfaction des papilles : le meilleur musée d'art du monde. C'est vrai. En 2014, TripAdvisor a déclaré l'Art Institute of Chicago meilleur musée du monde. L'Art Institute of Chicago est le deuxième plus grand musée d'art aux Etats-Unis et reste un favori mondial et un site incontournable, à ne pas manquer lors d'une visite à Chicago.

Que voir
Découvrez plus de 550 œuvres de 4000 ans d'art à l'Institut d'art de Chicago, l'une des collections les plus complètes au monde.

La collection d'art impressionniste, la deuxième plus grande au monde, est l'une des plus populaires, attirant régulièrement les foules. Vous aurez un aperçu de première main de l'art de maîtres tels que Monet, Degas et Van Gogh. Sont aussi exposées des oeuvres contemporaines d'Andy Warhol et Mark Rothko, des bijoux et des poteries d'Asie orientale et de l'art ancien d'Afrique, d'Inde et d'Asie. L'aile moderne du musée détient l'œuvre d'art la plus adorée pour certains visiteurs avides, mais on trouve en concurrence les Thorne Miniature Rooms. Construites à une échelle d'un pouce pour un pied, ces répliques imitent les constructions des intérieurs européens du 13e siècle jusqu'aux intérieurs américains du 17e siècle et aux années 1930, le tout avec des détails incroyables.

Prenez une photo à l'entrée principale avec deux magnifiques lions de bronze. L'un se tient "dans une attitude de défi" et l'autre est "à l'affût".

À savoir avant de partir
Portez des chaussures confortables - l'Art Institute de Chicago est un bâtiment très grand, et l'aile moderne est séparée du reste de la collection avec sa propre entrée à côté de Millennium Park. Il y a des milliers d'œuvres d'art à voir et explorer les collections par vous-même peut être fatiguant.

Les premiers visiteurs sont invités à prendre l'audio guide. L'audio guide vous donne non seulement un aperçu de l'importance et de l'histoire de chaque œuvre d'art, mais vous obtenez un concentré de la visite à travers le musée pour en repartir en sachant que vous avez vu les plus célèbres oeuvre d'art. Et le mieux, c'est que les audio guides sont complètement gratuits avec le CityPASS !

Parce que le musée est si vaste, il est préférable de réserver une journée entière pour l'exploration (ou encore mieux- prévoyez d'y retourner). Mais le jeudi, vous pouvez planifier un départ plus tard car le musée reste ouvert jusqu'à 20h00. Comme la plupart des musées, l'Art Institute de Chicago est fermé pour Thanksgiving, Noël et le jour de l'an.

Museum of Science & Industry

Chicago est une ville importante. Mais, même au sein de la grande ville se trouvent de grands musées, si fascinants et accueillants, qu'on pourrait passer des jours à en explorer tous les recoins. Le Museum of Science & Industry n'est pas différent. Comptant près de 40 000 mètres carrés d'expositions primées et 35 000 objets, il n'y a aucun moyen de traverser ce musée étonnant et varié en moins d'une heure. Heureusement, avec un Chicago CityPASS, vous pourrez éviter toutes les files d'attentes et vous rendre directement aux meilleures expositions, disposant ainsi de plus de temps pour les explorer.

À noter :
Le MSI est ouvert depuis 1933, lorsqu'un parent avait été inspiré par la fascination de son enfant curieux pour un écran de musée interactif. Ce moment d'inspiration s'est transformé dans le plus grand musée de la science de l'hémisphère occidental.

Que voir :
Le MSI est considéré comme l'un des plus intéressants musées de la science dans le monde, car les expositions constamment mises à jour reflètent les temps qui changent et les progrès continus de la technologie tout en maintenant des expositions qui explorent le passé à un niveau interactif détaillé.

Alors que d'autres musées documentent le passé, le MSI va toujours de l'avant, et les attentes de demain se reflètent bien dans les programmes et expositions à la pointe. Beaucoup de ceux qui ont visité le MSI ont apprécié les expositions permanentes autant que la fascinante visite interactive du sous-marin allemand U-505 et les Science Storms, où toutes les forces de la nature sont contenues dans une seule pièce pour être observées et manipulées par vous, scientifique en formation. La foudre, le feu, les tsunamis, et une tornade que vous pouvez contrôler vont, à coup sûr, captiver les enfants et les adultes.

L'une des expositions les plus populaires du musée est l'écloserie de poussins - vous pouvez voir les poussins perforer leurs coquilles et faire leurs premiers pas. Une autre expérience amusante est le labyrinthe de miroirs, faisant partie de l'exposition Numbers in Nature . Essayez de trouver la salle mystérieuse cachée et vous pourriez avoir à utiliser certaines compétences en mathématiques !

Bon à savoir :
Grâce au livret CityPASS, les visiteurs peuvent réserver leur place pour un tour en simulateur de mouvements et également pour l'un des spectacles Omnimax (le théâtre au dôme immersif).

Habituellement, la visite de l'exposition du sous-marin U-505 exige un coût supplémentaire, mais avec un livret CityPASS, l'entrée est gratuite. Plus vous avez du temps pour explorer le MSI, mieux c'est. Avec autant d'expositions et de projections disponibles à travers l'Omnimax, il est préférable de consacrer une journée entière au MSI pour profiter d'une expérience vraiment intéressante.

Le Field Museum

Le Field Museum présente une variété d'expositions qui anime les pages de l'histoire à travers des œuvres d'art, des sculptures, des artefacts et des activités interactives. Le Field Museum est surtout connu pour Sue, le fameux T. Rex qui y séjourne dans toute sa gloire fossilisée. Mais il y a d'autres expériences que vous ne trouverez nulle part ailleurs.

Anecdote
C'est seulement au Field Museum que vous pourrez voir Sue, le squelette de Tyrannosaurus Rex le plus complet du monde jamais trouvé, et découvrir des tombes de l'Égypte ancienne vieilles de 5000 ans, avec une des plus grandes collections de momies aux États-Unis.

Que voir
Sue est probablement ce que vous verrez en premier, car elle accueille les visiteurs dans le centre du lobby. Le Field Museum montre également un film en 3D sur Sue appelé "Réveiller le T. Rex" où vous pouvez tout apprendre sur ce célèbre dinosaure. Une chose amusante pour les enfants à faire est de prendre une photo « s'enfuir en courant » de SUE. Cela seul fait du Field Museum l'un des plus mémorables dans le monde, mais il y a tellement plus à explorer.

Underground Adventure est une exposition temporaire qui sera présentée jusqu'en décembre 2017. Dans cette exposition, les visiteurs vont rétrécir à 1/100e de leur taille pour se retrouver au ras du sol. Vous pourrez explorer les tunnels à vis sans fin et les chambres du sol, la diversité de la vie dans le sol (en rencontrant des écrevisses, des araignées-loups et des courtilières) et vous apprendrez à quel point le sol est important. Cette exposition nécessite un billet supplémentaire.

Découvrez l'histoire impressionnante des lions mangeurs d'hommes de Tsavo qui ont terrorisé un village africain en 1898, tuant 135 personnes ; les crânes et peaux de lion étaient utilisés pour créer les supports très ressemblants que vous verrez dans l'exposition.

Bon à savoir
Le Field Museum est ouvert tous les jours de 9 h00 à 17h00, sauf le jour de Noël. Cependant, l'entrée n'est possible que jusqu'à 16h00 et de toute façon, vous aurez besoin de plus d'une heure pour l'explorer. Avec le Chicago CityPASS, vous pouvez choisir de visionner un film en 3D numérique en plus de 10 % de réduction sur des achats de 25 $ ou plus à la boutique du musée. Améliorez votre expérience en achetant des billets à prix réduit pour des expositions temporaires.

Pour une expérience plus virtuelle, téléchargez l'application Field Museum pour créer votre propre visite, suivre une visite préparée et avoir accès à des goodies supplémentaires comme une vue en coulisses des images et des interviews avec des scientifiques.

Planetarium Adler

Tout le monde observe les étoiles au moins une fois de temps en temps. Au Planetarium Adler, vous n'observerez pas uniquement les étoiles, vous pourrez également vous immerger dans les merveilles du cosmos avec trois théâtres à la grandeur nature, et admirer l'une des collections les plus importantes d'instruments scientifiques anciens ainsi que d'étonnantes expositions spatiales.

À noter :
ouvert depuis 1930, l'Adler Planetarium est le premier planétarium américain. Le planétarium a été classé monument historique national en 1987. Il se situe aux bords du lac Michigan et offre une vue superbe sur le lac et les toits de la ville.

Que voir
Tout comme le Museum of Science & Industry permet aux visiteurs d'explorer les merveilles de cette planète, au Adler Planetarium, les visiteurs peuvent explorer l'inaccessible.

Dans le cadre de l'exposition Atwood Sphere, le ciel nocturne au-dessus de Chicago en 1913 montre aux visiteurs la vraie couleur du ciel sans pollution lumineuse. C'est une expérience étonnante et captivante qui vous apportera un tout nouveau regard sur l'obscurité.

Les adultes aiment le Space Visualization Lab, le laboratoire de visualisation spatiale, où des experts, des scientifiques, des éducateurs, et même des artistes travaillent ensemble pour rendre l'exploration spatiale accessible à tous, à travers des expositions interactives ainsi que des présentations en direct d'experts en astronomie et autres domaines.

Admirez la véritable capsule spatiale Gemini 12 où les astronautes Buzz Aldrin et Jim Lovell ont passé quatre jours, à l'étroit ! Vous pouvez également écouter les véritables communications qui ont eu lieu entre le contrôle de la mission et l'équipage d'Apollo 13. Lors de l'exposition Exploring Our Solar System , vous pourrez toucher un morceau de la Lune, de Mars, de Ceres et de Vesta, et échanger avec des scientifiques.

L'Adler After Dark est un événement mensuel spécial qui a lieu chaque troisième jeudi du mois de 18 h à 22 h, pour les personnes âgées de plus de 21 ans. Un évènement unique et idéal pour un rendez-vous romantique, boire des cocktails, assister à des spectacles de théâtre sur le ciel, à des conférences d'invités spéciaux et d'autres divertissements en direct. Préparez votre visite pour le troisième jeudi du mois, cela vaut la peine de s'y rendre.

À savoir avant de partir
Si vous décidez de participer à l'évènement Adler After Dark, vous pouvez obtenir une réduction de 5 $ sur le prix du billet avec votre livret CityPASS Chicago en plus d'un rabais de 10 % au magasin Adler et au Café Galileo.

Museum of Contemporary Art

Le Museum of Contemporary Art est un chef-d'œuvre architectural exhibant certains des joyaux de créativité les plus importants du monde. L'art qui suit la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, dont Frida Kahlo, Alexander Calder, Andy Warhol, et d'autres encore en sont l'expression, mettent en valeur les styles du surréalisme, du minimalisme, du pop art et du postmodernisme.

Le Museum of Contemporary Art élève l'aventure artistique à un tout nouveau niveau en proposant des spectacles et des programmes agréables qui renseignent et éclairent les esprits curieux au sujet de l'art.

Anecdote :
Le MCA est connu pour avoir toujours pris des risques. Après avoir ouvert ses portes pour la première fois en 1967, les artistes en herbe ont eu l'occasion de prouver leur valeur sur les murs du MCA. En fait, c'était le Musée d'art contemporain qui avait accueilli l'exposition des débuts de Frida Kahlo, qui aujourd'hui est reconnue parmi les plus grands noms. À ce jour, le MCA reste fidèle à ses valeurs.

À voir :
Le Musée d'art contemporain est absolument à visiter à Chicago. Chaque entrée au MCA est différente, et nombreuses sont les raisons de visiter ce musée unique, encore et encore.

Le musée est géré comme une galerie d'art avec des expositions changeant tout au long de l'année, apportant toujours l'art le plus avant-gardiste au public. Le flux de travail contemporain fait du MCA un des musées les plus uniques et les plus aimés à Chicago et dans le monde.

Une œuvre d'art emblématique y est visible en tout temps, et c'est parce qu'elle fait partie du musée lui-même : l'escalier principal. Chef-d'œuvre architectural vertigineux, l'escalier est devenu une attraction à lui tout seul. Contrastant avec les murs blancs de la galerie, l'escalier se distingue par sa permanence.

Le MCA contient des collections permanentes, qui comprennent plus de 2 500 œuvres d'art, mais aucune n'est exposée de manière permanente. Au lieu de cela, diverses pièces de la collection permanente sont exposées dans la rotation des expositions, ce qui rend chaque expérience MCA différente de la précédente.

Enrichissante est un mot pour décrire le MCA, et magnifique le suit de près. Une seule visite ne fait vraiment pas justice à ce musée. Même le bâtiment en lui-même constitue une œuvre d'art moderne.

À savoir avant de partir :
Des visites gratuites sont disponibles, donc si vous êtes à la recherche d'une expérience d'art contemporain, n'omettez pas cette visite. Les journées de la famille permettent aux plus jeunes de créer, bricoler, et expérimenter l'art.

National Museum of Mexican Art

Chicago est une ville culturelle, d'un bout à l'autre. Si vous avez vu le monde dans les étoiles au Chicago Adler Planetarium, vous découvrirez un nouveau monde dynamique et magnifique en vous rendant au National Museum of Mexican Art. Ici, vous pourrez explorer les subtilités de la culture mexicaine sin fronteras, autrement dit sans frontières, où l'expression artistique ne connaît pas de limites.

À noter :
Ce qui, à l'origine, a été lancé par un groupe d'enseignants de Chicago avec un budget de 900 $ s'est transformé en un musée dynamique, accueillant à présent la plus grande célébration du Day of the Dead aux États-Unis En 2015, plus de 10 000 visiteurs se sont rendus au National Museum of Mexican Art pour y célébrer l'importante fête mexicaine.

Que voir
Le National Museum of Mexican Art est l'un des plus intéressants musées Latino dans le pays, et il est le seul à être accrédité par l'American Alliance of Museums. Cela signifie que chaque pièce doit démontrer une certaine valeur artistique et culturelle, et chaque œuvre est riche en histoire et en expression artistique. Les nombreux commentaires enthousiastes des visiteurs prouvent que l'exposition Dia de Los Muertos (Jours des morts) est de loin la plus populaire. Le National Museum of Mexican Art explore les racines de cette fête spirituelle en exposant des œuvres de plus de 50 artistes mexicains en provenance du Mexique et des États-Unis. Il s'agit de la plus grande exposition annuelle du Dia de Los Muertos dans le pays.

Bien que beaucoup plus petit que ses grands musées d'art voisins de Chicago, le National Museum of Mexican Art est devenu un pilier de la culture artistique de Chicago grâce à des collections qui ne ressemblent à aucune autre. On y trouve une collection d'art populaire, composée d'un mélange de céramiques, de masques, de bois sculpté, et même des oeuvres en papier mâché par des artistes mexicains bien connus.

L'exposition permanente Nuestra Historias : Soulignant l'identité mexicaine, affiche ce qui a été appelé par l'un des conservateurs du musée « le meilleur de la collection » et est centrée sur les diverses histoires de l'identité mexicaine en Amérique du Nord. On peut y admirer Le Jardin des Délices de Rubén Ortiz-Torres,une tondeuse à gazon aux nombreux accessoires rendant hommage aux travailleurs de l'aménagement paysager, et l'enseigne néon rose d'Alejandro Díaz affichant : Make Tacos Not War.

En plus des peintures et des sculptures, objets plus traditionnels dans un musée, le National Museum of Mexican Art possède une collection de calendriers et d'anciennes cartes postales, des objets provenant des églises locales, et près de 1 000 affiches commémorant les événements culturels et les films Chicano.

À savoir avant de partir
L'entrée au musée est gratuite, ainsi, le seul moment où vous pourrez dépenser de l'argent sera dans la boutique de souvenirs du musée -Tienda Tzintzuntzan ou, Place of the Hummingbird. Dans la boutique de souvenirs vous trouverez des cadeaux confectionnés à la main qui ne peuvent être trouvés que dans un musée dédié à l'intégrité artistique de la culture mexicaine. Tous les articles ont été dénichés dans diverses régions du Mexique par le personnel du musée et spécialement destinés à la boutique de cadeaux.

Le musée est ouvert du mardi au dimanche de 10h00 à 17h00 et est fermé le lundi. La plupart des visiteurs sont en mesure d'explorer pleinement le musée en quelques heures, ce qui en fait une étape idéale pour ceux qui ne disposent pas d'une journée entière à consacrer aux musées.

Si vous cherchez à visiter les meilleurs musées de Chicago, utilisez Chicago CityPASS. Vous économiserez près de la moitié des frais d'entrée combinés à certains des meilleurs musées et attractions touristiques de Chicago. Les titulaires du CityPASS ont également le privilège de couper la plupart des files d'attente. Chicago CityPASS comprend l'entrée à Shedd Aquarium, Field Museum, Skydeck Chicago, au Adler Planetarium ou à l'Art Institute of Chicago, et à 360 CHICAGO ou au Musée des sciences et de l'industrie de Chicago. Certaines expositions spéciales ne sont pas incluses dans le CityPASS et peuvent exiger des frais supplémentaires.

Les CityPASS peuvent être achetés en ligne ou dans l'une de nos attractions participantes à Chicago. Utilisez Chicago CityPASS et découvrez les meilleurs musées et choses à faire à Chicago.

Crédit photo du Museum of Contemporary Art
Crédit photo du National Museum of Mexican Art

Chicago CityPASS a une cote de 4,7/5 basée sur 8030 avis.

Menu Cart
2
FAQ en

Chicago

Top Museums In Chicago

Save 53% on VIP admission to the top 5 Chicago attractions with CityPASS.

From the largest and most complete T-Rex to masterpieces and modern art, Chicago has it all. No wonder it’s called the "City of Broad Horizons," as top-notch museums aim to enlighten, educate and inspire. Whether it’s the vast collections at the Art Institute or learning more about planet earth and the solar system at America’s first planetarium it’s all in Chicago. Here are the most iconic museum stops to include on your itinerary.


Art Institute of Chicago

Just as the aerial view of the Chicago cityscape from Skydeck Chicago takes your breath away, so will the art of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Within the walls of this grand museum are endless exhibits of both classic and contemporary artwork from around the nation and world. Inside the Art Institute is Gallery 144, an exhibit of replicas of famous Chicago structures, including one replica created by Picasso himself. This is just one of the ways the Art Institute of Chicago provides visitors with the full Chicago experience, and it’s also why they’re a treasured CityPASS partner.

Fun Fact
Chicago may have arguably the best hot dogs in the world, but Chicago has another "best" that goes beyond taste bud satisfaction: the best art museum in the world. That's right. In 2014, TripAdvisor named The Art Institute of Chicago the best museum in the world. The Art Institute of Chicago is the second largest art museum in the United States and remains a global favorite and an iconic, can’t-miss stop for any visit to Chicago.

What to See
Explore over 550 works from 4,000 years of art in the Art Institute of Chicago, one of the most comprehensive collections in the world.

The impressionist art collection, the second biggest in the world, is one of the most popular, drawing regular crowds. You’ll get a first-hand look at the art of such masters as Monet, Degas, and Van Gogh. Also on display is contemporary work from Andy Warhol and Mark Rothko, jewelry and pottery from East Asia, and ancient art from Africa, India, and Asia. The Modern Wing of the museum holds the most beloved artwork for certain eager visitors, and a favorite has come to be the Thorne Miniature Rooms. Built on a scale of one inch to one foot, these replicas imitate the constructs of European interiors from the 13th century to the American interiors from the 17th century all the way through the 1930s and all in incredible detail.

Take a photo at the main entrance with two magnificent bronze lions. One stands "in an attitude of defiance" and the other is "on the prowl."

Know Before You Go
Wear comfortable shoes - the Art Institute of Chicago is an extremely large building, and the Modern Wing is separate from the rest of the collection with its own entrance next to Millennium Park. There are thousands of works of art to see and exploring the collections on your own can be a daunting task.

First-time visitors are recommended to take the audio tour. The audio tour not only gives insight into the importance and history of each work of art, but you get a focused tour through the museum so you can leave knowing you’ve seen the most renowned works of art. Best of all, audio tours are completely free with CityPASS!

Because the museum is so vast, it’s best to dedicate an entire day for exploration (or better yet – plan to come back!). But on Thursdays you can plan for a later start, as the museum stays open until 8:00pm. Like most museums, the Art Institute of Chicago is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day.

Museum of Science & Industry

Chicago is a big city. But even within the big city are big museums that are so fascinating and inviting, it could take days to explore each one from corner to corner. The Museum of Science & Industry is no different. With 400,000 square feet of award-winning exhibits and 35,000 artifacts, there is simply no way to walk through this amazing and diverse museum in under an hour. Fortunately, with a Chicago CityPASS, you’ll zip past the lines and get right to the best exhibits with more time to explore.

Fun Fact
The MSI has been open since 1933, when a parent was inspired by his curious child’s fascination with an interactive museum display. That moment of inspiration has morphed into the largest science museum in the Western Hemisphere.

What to See
The MSI is considered one of the best science museums in the world because the constantly updated exhibits reflect the changing times and continual advancement of technology while still holding exhibits that explore the past at a detailed interactive level.

While other museums document the past, MSI is always looking forward, and the expectations for tomorrow reflect well in their state-of-the-art programs and exhibits. Many of those who have paid a visit to MSI have enjoyed the permanent exhibits like the fascinating interactive tour of the German submarine U-505 and the Science Storms, in which all forces of nature are contained in one room to be observed and manipulated by you, a scientist-in-training. Lightning, fire, tsunamis, and a 40-foot tornado you can control are sure to enthrall both children and adults.

One of the most popular exhibits at the Museum is the baby chick hatchery – you can see the chicks peck their way out of their shells and take their first steps. Another fun experience is the mirror maze, part of the Numbers in Nature exhibit. See if you can find the hidden mystery room and you might have to pull out some math skills!

Know Before You Go
With a CityPASS booklet, visitors can reserve a seat in a motion simulator ride in addition to one of the omnimax shows (the immersive dome theatre).

Normally, the U-505 Submarine exhibit comes at an additional cost, but with a CityPASS booklet, admission is free. The more time you have to explore MSI, the better. With so many exhibits and showings available through the omnimax it is best to dedicate one full day to MSI for a truly worthwhile experience.

The Field Museum

The Field Museum encapsulates a variety of exhibits that bring the pages of history to life through works of art, sculptures, artifacts, and interactive activities. The Field Museum is best known for the famous SUE the T. Rex, where she lives in all her fossilized glory. But there are other experiences you won’t find anywhere else.

Fun Fact
Only at The Field Museum can you see SUE, the world’s most complete skeleton of a Tyrannosaurus Rex ever found, AND explore 5,000 year-old tombs from Ancient Egypt, complete with one of the largest collections of mummies in the US.

What to See
SUE is probably your first sight, because she welcomes visitors right in the center of the lobby. The Field Museum also shows a 3D movie about SUE called "Waking the T. Rex" where you can learn all about this celebrity dinosaur. This alone makes the Field Museum one of the most memorable in the world, but there’s also so much more to explore.

A temporary exhibit that will be featured until December of 2017 is the Underground Adventure. In this exhibit, visitors get to shrink down to 1/100th of their size to dive into the soil. You’ll explore worm tunnels and soil chambers, the diversity of life within the soil (meeting crayfish, wolf spiders, and mole crickets) and you’ll learn just how important soil really is. This exhibit requires an additional ticket.

Explore the gripping story of the man-eating Tsavo lions, who terrorized an African village in 1898, killing 135 people; the lion’s skulls and skins were used to create the life-like mounts you’ll see in the exhibit.

Know Before You Go
The Field Museum is open every day from 9am-5pm except on Christmas. However, last admission is at 4pm daily, and you would want more than an hour to explore anyway. With Chicago CityPASS, you can have your choice in seeing one digital 3D film in addition to 10% off Museum Store purchases of $25 or more. Upgrade your experience by purchasing tickets to temporary exhibits at a discount.

For a more virtual experience, download the Field Museum app to create your own tour, follow a pre-made one, and get access to extra app goodies like behind-the-scenes footage and interviews with scientists.

Adler Planetarium

Everyone looks up at the stars at least once in a while. At the Adler Planetarium, you not only get to look at the stars, you get the chance to immerse yourself in the wonders of the cosmos with three full-size theatres, one of the largest and most significant collections of antique scientific instruments, and amazing space exhibitions.

Fun Facts
The Adler Planetarium is America’s first planetarium, open since 1930. It became a National Historic Landmark in 1987. It sits right on Lake Michigan and has awesome views of the lake and the city skyline.

What to See
Just as the Museum of Science & Industry allows visitors to explore the wonders of this planet, the Adler Planetarium allows visitors to explore the unreachable.

In the Atwood Sphere exhibit, the night sky over Chicago in 1913 shows visitors the true color that paints the night sky without light pollution. It’s a stunning and immersive experience that will give you a whole new appreciation for darkness.

Adults love the Space Visualization Lab, where experts, scientists, educators, and even artists work together to bring space exploration to the masses through interactive exhibits and visualizations as well as live presentations from experts in astronomy and other fields.

Check out the actual Gemini 12 space capsule where astronauts Buzz Aldrin and Jim Lovell spent four days - it was tight quarters! You can also listen to the actual communications that took place between Mission Control and the crew of Apollo 13. In the Exploring Our Solar System exhibit, you can touch a piece of the Moon, Mars, Ceres, and Vesta, and talk with scientists.

A special once-a-month event that happens every third Thursday of the month from 6:00pm to 10:00pm is Adler After Dark, a 21+ event that brings date nights, cocktails, theatre sky shows, special guest lectures, and live entertainment together in one amazing and totally unique event. Plan your visit for the third Thursday of the month as it’s well worth checking out.

Know Before You Go
If you decide to participate in Adler After Dark, you can get $5 off ticket price with your Chicago CityPASS booklet in addition to a 10% discount at the Adler Store and Café Galileo.

Museum of Contemporary Art

The Museum of Contemporary Art is an architectural masterpiece containing some of the world’s most important creative gems. Post-World War II art of the likes of Frida Kahlo, Alexander Calder, Andy Warhol, and more showcase the styles of surrealism, minimalism, pop art, and postmodernism.

The Museum of Contemporary Art takes art adventure to a whole new level with live performances and indulgent programs that will teach and enlighten any mind curious about art.

Fun Fact
The MCA has a long history of taking chances. After opening its doors for the first time 1967, emerging artists have had the chance to prove their worth on the walls of the MCA. In fact, it was the Museum of Contemporary Art that hosted Frida Kahlo’s debut exhibition, and now she is recognized as one of the greats. To this day, MCA holds true to their values.

What to See
The Museum of Contemporary Art is a Chicago must-see. Every trip to the MCA is different, and there are plenty of reasons to visit this unique museum over and over again.

The museum is run more like an art gallery with exhibits changing throughout the year, always bringing the most cutting-edge art to the public. The flux of contemporary work makes the MCA one of the most unique and beloved museums in Chicago and in the world.

There is one iconic work of art that’s guaranteed to be seen at all times, and that’s because it’s part of the museum itself: the main staircase. A dizzying architectural masterpiece, the staircase has become an attraction all on its own. In contrast with the blank walls of the gallery space, the staircase stands out with permanence.

The MCA does have permanent collections, which include more than 2,500 works of art, but no one piece is displayed constantly. Instead, various pieces from the permanent collection are displayed in rotating exhibits, making every MCA experience different from the last.

Bold is one word to describe the MCA, and beautiful follows close behind. One visit truly does not do this museum justice. Even the building itself is a work of modern art.

Know Before You Go
There are free tours available, so if you’re looking to indulge in the ultimate contemporary art experience, take the tour. Family Days allow little ones to create, tinker, and experiment with art.

National Museum of Mexican Art

Chicago is a cultured city, through and through. If you saw the world in the stars at the Chicago Adler Planetarium, you’ll see a vibrant and beautiful new world in the National Museum of Mexican Art. Here you’ll explore the intricacies of Mexican culture sin fronteras, or without borders, where artistic expression has no limits.

Fun Fact
What was originally started by a group of Chicago schoolteachers with a budget of $900 has transformed into a vibrant museum that is now the host of the largest Day of the Dead celebration in the U.S. In 2015, over 10,000 visitors made their way to the National Museum of Mexican Art to celebrate the important Mexican holiday.

What to See
The National Museum of Mexican Art is one of the best Latino museums in the nation, and is the only one accredited by the American Alliance of Museums. This means that every exhibit must be of a certain artistic and cultural value, and every work is rich in history and artistic expression. Many glowing visitor reviews prove that the Dia de Los Muertos exhibit is by far the most popular. The National Museum of Mexican Art explores the roots of this spiritual holiday by exhibiting works by more than 50 Mexican artists from both Mexico and the United States. It is the largest annual exhibition of Dia de Los Muertos in the country.

Though the museum is much smaller than its big Chicago art neighbors, the National Museum of Mexican Art has become a mainstay of Chicago art culture thanks to collections that are unlike any other. There is a collection of folk art, comprised of a mixture of ceramics, masks, carved wood, and even papier mache from well-known Mexican artists.

The permanent exhibit Nuestra Historias: Highlighting the Mexican Identity displays what has been called by one of the museum’s curators "the best of the collection" and centers on the diverse stories of Mexican identity in North America. It includes Rubén Ortiz-Torres’s The Garden of Earthly Delights, a tricked-out low-rider lawnmower that pays homage to landscaping laborers, and Alejandro Díaz’s pink neon sign Make Tacos Not War.

In addition to the paintings and sculptures that are more of the traditional findings in a museum, the National Museum of Mexican Art holds a collection of vintage calendars, postcards, churches and local customs, and nearly 1,000 posters commemorating Chicano cultural events and movies.

Know Before You Go
The museum is free admission, so the only time you might spend money is at the museum’s gift shop—Tienda Tzintzuntzan or, Place of the Hummingbird. Within the gift shop are handcrafted gifts that can only be found in a museum dedicated to the artistic integrity of Mexican culture. All items are sourced from regions of Mexico by museum staff specifically for the gift shop.

The museum is open Tuesday through Sunday from 10:00am to 5:00pm and closed on Mondays. Most visitors are able to fully explore the museum within a couple of hours, making it the perfect stop for those who don’t have an entire day to devote to museums.

If you're looking to visit the best Chicago museums, use Chicago CityPASS. You'll save nearly half off combined entrance fees to some of the top museums and tourist attractions in Chicago. CityPASS holders also get to skip most ticket lines. Chicago CityPASS includes admission to Shedd Aquarium, The Field Museum, Skydeck Chicago, Adler Planetarium or the Art Institute of Chicago, and 360 CHICAGO or the Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago. Some special exhibits are not included with the CityPASS and may require an extra fee.

CityPASS can be purchased online or at any of our participating Chicago attractions. Use Chicago CityPASS and discover the top museums and things to do in Chicago.

Museumof Contemporary Art Photo Credit
National Museum of Mexican Art Photo Credit

Chicago CityPASS has a rating of 4.8/5 based on 6,520 reviews.