菜单 购物车
2
FAQ zh

旧金山

city​​_name_extended_translated 的 旧金山

节省 42%,另加全城交通通票 CityPASS.

您曾经想彻底了解的缆车系统丶世界级的艺术藏品丶互动科普展品,San Francisco有一个多元化的博物馆场景。还有什么地方能将个水族馆丶热带雨林丶天文馆和自然历史博物馆集于一身? 除了展览,许多博物馆提供了海湾和城市最佳公园的壮丽景色。这里有最标志性的博物馆,请将它们列入您的行程的站点中。


Exploratorium

除了与之进行互动,还有什么更好的方式来学习和吸收您所看到信息呢? 在 San Francisco的The Exploratorium in,游客可以做到这一点。

The Exploratorium有超过600种由研究员和艺术家创造的交互式室内和室外展览。它是这么被描述的“疯狂科学家的游乐场 丶科学奇幻屋和实验室三位一体”(7x7杂志)。

有趣的事实
The Exploratorium 是第一个建立网站的博物馆。 它发布于1993年12月。The Exploratorium对学习有如此大的影响,以至于世界各地80%的科学中心已经在其研究中使用或正在使用The Exploratorium的展品丶计划或想法。

该做什么
探索六个展廊,那儿有互动展品。即使您不是科学家,您可能对于世界现象或科学现象有一些悬而未决的问题,或者两者兼有之。The Exploratorium可能至少可以回答其中一个待解决的问题

在Bernard and Barbro Osher West Gallery,游客可以深入研究人类的记忆丶情感丶判断和认知的奥秘。The Tactile Dome是一个吸引人的展览,游客仅使用触觉作为指引,感受质地,在黑暗中探索前进。需要预约,因为这展览非常受欢迎。对于 CityPASS 持有者,Tactile Dome 的门票价格可以减至$15。

由于The Exploratorium内每个展廊各有不同,很难确定哪个是“最佳”的展览。在Bechtel Central Gallery,游客可以根据几个独特的展品体验视觉和听觉,如“亮黑色”,它让游客在发现该物体极黑之前认为它是白色的。South Gallery的The Tinkering Studio一直是最受儿童和成人欢迎的展览之一,游客可以在这里参与实践工坊活动。游客可以进行构建丶破解丶转换和实验,而且活动总是在不断变化。

这里有六种不同的展廊,各自侧重于不同的领域:社会行为丶触觉丶视觉和光学丶生活世界,当地的环境和全球现象丶风丶水和潮汐。在The Exploratorium花上一天的时间是很容易的事情!

行前了解:
为了尽兴探访,请预留一整天的时间,这样您将有机会深度领略每一个展室。成人可以享受“Exploratorium After Dark”,这是18岁以上的活动,每月第一个周四的晚上6点到晚上10点举行。在这个特殊的活动上,成年人可以品尝鸡尾酒并投入创新和互动的科学与艺术展示。

California Academy of Sciences

在The California Academy of Sciences,游客可以穿过热带雨林丶深蓝色的大海和明亮的宇宙星空,感受完全身临其境的体验。

The California Academy of Sciences拥有超过2600万个标本,是世界上最大的自然科学博物馆之一。The California Academy of Sciences也是以其创新的课程而闻名的著名教育机构。这个博物馆是世界上唯一把水族馆丶天文馆与自然史博物馆的奇妙结合在一起的博物馆。

有趣的事实
超过40,000种动物在The California Academy of Sciences安家。它成立于1853年,在California被设为洲的短短3年后,于2008重建,包括提供了原生植物的栖息地的草皮屋顶。天窗让博物馆沐浴在自然的光线中。

该做什么
动物为人们带来微笑。一些可爱丶蹒跚的家伙已经居住在The California Academy of Sciences,并成为学院为各种年龄游客提供的非凡教育体验的一部分。企鹅喂食是学院未曾间断的活动。看着生物学家喂养这些出色的生物,与此同时 参与教育问答。本活动是非常适合孩子和成人的。

The Osher Rainforest是一个四层楼的绿色植物天堂,让游客展开一趟栖息于热带雨林的丰富多彩的生活。珍奇鸟类丶两栖类野生动物丶和巨大的亚马逊鱼是这个梦幻般的展览的所有亮点。一旦进入穹顶内部,参观者将看到上面90英尺舒展的郁郁葱葱的绿色热带雨林。馆内的螺旋道路带领客人穿越雨林的三个不同的生态系统。第一个生态系统是Bornean 森林层,第二个是位在楼层之间的Madagascan,第三个是Costa Rican森林的树冠。您探索顶层后,可以乘电梯下来到森林层的表面下,看看亚马逊的洪溢生态。一旦到了那里,您就可以看到头顶的阳光通过水面照射在亚马逊鱼的鳞片上闪闪发光。

步入Shake House感受San Francisco规模最大的两次地震,6.9级的Loma Prieta地震和1906年7.9级San Francisco大地震。

行前了解:
如果您打算去天文馆看表演,请在到达前预订。想寻找更加个性化的体验吗? 在深入博物馆丶水族馆丶和热带雨林的心脏地带时,利用幕后导览了解学院在研究丶科学探索的作用以及对于教育的奉献。每个星期四晚六点至晚上10点,成年人可以享受充满了音乐丶生物丶和鸡尾酒的博物馆之夜 。对了,要跟白化鳄鱼 Claude打招呼喔。

de Young Museum

the de Young Museum位于San Francisco的 Golden Gate Bridge Park,拥有大量世界各地的艺术品收藏,吸引着人们前往参观。从17世纪至20世纪的美国艺术品,到美洲原住民和非洲本土艺术家的获奖作品,the de Young Museum为游客提供了丰富的展藏和令人振奋的参观体验。博物馆建筑本身就值得一看,它交织在公园的自然环境中,将老建筑的历史元素融入到了新的设计中去。

有趣的事实
The de Young藏品因自然灾害而搬迁过两次。1906年的大地震对原先的建筑造成了很大的破坏,而1989年的洛马普雷塔地震则促成了一座全新建筑的建立,该建筑由私人出资建成,其结构安全稳固,并可满足不断增长的藏品数量需求。新建筑的外墙由95万磅 铜、300万磅 玻璃、以及拥有150万次压花的7200块铜板组成。

该做什么
在de Young有许多临时展览,所以您总能看到一些新的东西。该博物馆是西海岸拥有美洲和非洲纺织品以及服装藏品最多的博物馆。de Young藏品的摆放展示方式可以说是独一无二的。藏品并没有根据地域特点摆放在一起,而是根据统一的主题,将来自世界各地的相关艺术品集中成了一个收藏系列。这样一来,游客不但可以了解藏品的意义所在,还可以看到来自全球不同地区的其他类似艺术作品。

在the de Young Museum中,美国绘画收藏以及非洲艺术品收藏两个展厅很受欢迎。和刚开始相比,非洲艺术品收藏数量急剧上升。曾经只是大胆和表现主义的零星收藏品,现在已是令人印象深刻的收藏系列,拥有的艺术品足够建立一个主题收藏了。美国绘画作品涵盖了美洲各个时期和地区的艺术品,并按照时间顺序展示。从美国原住民和西班牙殖民,到新古典主义和印象派,在the de Young有太多可以看的,以及令人惊讶的藏品了。对于那些喜欢户外远足的游客,雕塑花园能让您在博物馆外宁静愉快的环境中欣赏艺术作品。花园内摆放着de Young Museum最初的狮身人面像雕塑,还有Pool of Enchantment。

您还可以前往九层楼高的Harmon Tower观看全景。从这里,您可以看到Golden Gate Bridge、California Academy of Sciences的生态屋顶,以及San Francisco独一无二的美景。

行前小贴士
星期三下午1点至傍晚5点之间参观博物馆,可以参加艺术工作室的免费活动,和艺术家面对面。另外在de Young还有针对年轻艺术爱好者的儿童项目,以及星期五晚上成人艺术爱好者的活动,可以在那里购买享用食物和鸡尾酒。博物馆通常每周一闭馆,但也有一些例外。关于特别开放时间信息,请查看日历。在语音导览站有语音导览服务。

Legion of Honor

The Legion of Honor Museum位于San Francisco’s Lincoln Park的心脏地带,4000千年历史和欧洲艺术丶辉煌的法国新古典主义建筑丶壮盛的雕像丶Golden Gate Bridge无与伦比的美景和San Francisco 的城市景观闪耀内外。

The de Young 和The Legion of Honor联合创建了The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco 。The Legion of Honor是为了纪念在第一次世界大战中死亡的美国加州士兵而建,做为复制Paris的The Légion d'Honneur 的建筑。

有趣的事实
The de Young 和The Legion of Honor联合创建了The Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco 。The Legion of Honor是为了纪念在第一次世界大战中死亡的美国加州士兵而建,作为复制建筑,The Legion of Honor拥有美国最多的素描和版画收藏品之一,并出现在希区柯克 的电影《迷魂记》中。博物馆门前的著名雕像是Auguste Rodin 的 "沉思者",实际上 这个 沉思者,只是 众多沉思者中的一个。Rodin受Henri Lebosse委托,亲身监督之下所创作。其实在美国和世界各地散布着多个"沉思者"雕像,让全球每一个角落几乎都有属于自己的"沉思者"。

该做什么
在The Legion of Honor还有一个专门用于展览Rodin的各类作品的长廊,收藏超过100多个雕塑。Rodin Gallery内有一个Skinner Organ,不需要多个音乐家就可以模仿乐团管风琴的声音。雷鸣般的音乐在提高的天花板和博物馆的宽阔空间内显得丰富而饱满,每个星期六和星期日下午4点,游客在欣赏壮丽的艺术的同时,可以享受一场免费音乐会。表演者演奏Bach到好莱坞电影的所有配乐,每场音乐会通过雄伟的博物馆的空气产生共鸣。

The Legion of Honor的藏品包括世界知名艺术家超过124000件的作品,如Renoir丶 Monet, Picasso丶Degas丶 van Dyck丶 Rembrandt丶Hals丶Rubens丶van Gogh丶 Cezanne丶 Gainsborough和 El Greco。欧洲装饰艺术丶古地中海的艺术,令人印象深刻的雕塑和绘画丶以及纸质素描的浩大收藏已经使The Legion of Honor名列世界上最好的博物馆的名单上。在这个拥有非凡景致的土地上,古典绘画和其它各式艺品都展示在设计精美的建筑中,令人更加难忘。

行前了解
周二到周六入馆提供免费的讲解员 导览 。要获得互动和教育体验,可以下载移动应用程序,它为游客提供了详细的三维地图,按收藏品的时间顺序引导游客,在导览途中利用有趣的小知识启发访客。

SFMOMA

San Francisco艺术氛围浓厚,其精神为现代艺术所仿效。因此,新扩建的SFMoMA(旧金山现代艺术博物馆)则是加州版纽约现代艺术博物馆,馆内汇集了一切形式的现代艺术。

SFMoMA经过近三年的闭门扩建后,新馆高7层,展览总面积达235,000平方英尺,成为北加州最大的博物馆和世界最大的博物馆之一,举世无双。

有趣的事实
新馆拥有45,000平方英尺的空间免费向公众开放。这让SFMoMA成为San Francisco市中心极其重要的文化和社会艺术枢纽。SFMoMA创建于1935年,同时也是美国西海岸第一个完全致力于现代和当代艺术的博物馆。

出行指南
SFMoMA一直以其优良的策展和组织闻名于世。看似无限的开放空间,完善的体系结构和独特的收藏品使得SFMoMA成为世界上最佳博物馆之一。一些参观者称扩建后的SFMoMA甚至胜于纽约当代艺术博物馆。

SFMoMA的临时展览让鲜为人知的艺术家展现在公众视线前。而其永久收藏品汇集了诸如Chuck Close、Andy Warhol、Frida Kahlo、Roy Lichtenstein等多位艺术大师广受欢迎的作品。不过,或许SFMoMa最受赞誉的永久性特征是它的 Living Wall。Living Wall 是自然和艺术的结合,其多变的色彩和园艺架构激发创造力,并且为访客提供一处美丽的休憩地,暂从博物馆封闭的四壁获得解脱。Living Wall 由几种不同植物所搭建而成。墙的每个部分都植有不同的植物,按照其自然习惯的周期变化,墙体也随之而变,访客下一次到此时,整个墙体极有可能焕然一新。和画作不同,Living Wall 一直处于移动中。在探索 SFMoMA宏大空间之余,别忘了驻足欣赏馆外的郁郁葱葱,见证Living Wall的 绿色奇迹。

在馆内您将会欣赏到美国境内最大的致力于各种艺术博物馆摄影作品的画廊、研究和诠释空间。您还可以欣赏到旧金山当地人的作品,以及一尊名为“序列”重达200吨的雕塑,新馆环绕该雕塑而建。

行前小贴士
对于那些不了解现代艺术世界并希望得到艺术探索“样本”的访客们,可以先免费参观SFMoMA的一、二两层。入场券包括45分钟的免费博物馆导览。许多到过SFMoMA的访客建议下载该款很棒的SFMoMA应用程式然后自己探索。音频导览结合室内追踪定位技术,对访客讲述馆内每一件他们所遇到的艺术品。多名知名的音频讲解员让访客在参观博物馆展品时感受到真人亲临其境般的叙述。SFMoMA内还定期举办现场表演。

Cable Car Museum

在外人的想象中,旧金山是是一座多雾的丘陵城市,金门大桥和缆车是它的标志。缆车博物馆(Cable Car Museum)堪称是最具旧金山特色的地方。这是世界上唯一的缆车博物馆,你可以在这里深入了解这种历史悠久的交通工具——它每年都为旧金山带来大量游客。

在20世纪之前,各家铁路公司在旧金山湾区拥有总共53英里的轨道。但是这座城市在1906年的大地震和火灾遭到了严重的毁坏。随着城市慢慢地从废墟中恢复,电车成为了这座城市的特色交通工具,因为它的生产和维护更加简单和低成本,而且运行速度较快。缆车博物馆正是对这种深受市民喜爱的交通方式的纪念。

有趣的事实
1947年,当时的旧金山市长宣布所有缆车线路都应该被取消,因为其他所有的交通方式(主要是公共汽车)都会比缆车成本更低。但是弗里德尔·克拉斯曼(Friedel Klussmann)无法接受这点。她建立了一个致力于挽救缆车的市民委员会。该委员会向旧金山市政府证明了缆车为城市带来的价值要高于它们的运营成本。她是对的。旧金山缆车是世界上最后一个仍在运营的缆车系统,它们既是一个有趣的游览项目,也是城市交通的一个有效方式。

该做什么
旧金山缆车的历史是迷人的。博物馆展出各种文物和照片,游客可以按照时间顺序了解缆车的发展历程。你会看到各种古老的缆车型号,包括生产与1870年代的三台古董缆车。仔细观察驱动缆车系统的机械装置,了解一点缆车背后的工程知识。

几乎所有参观过缆车博物馆人都会着迷于缆车背后的滑轮系统。游客可以从上方的甲板看到工作中的发动机和车轮。在下面,你可以亲眼目睹缆绳在街上拉动缆车的过程。在了解过一些缆车的历史和工程知识后,再去参观缆车整体的机械运作将会让你的参观体验更丰富。

入场须知
缆车博物馆是常年免费开放的 它的开放时间为:4月到10月,上午10点到下午6点;11月至3月上午10点到下午5点,每日开放。博物馆内设有一家纪念品商店,游客可以在这里购买独特的缆车纪念品。你可以带一些具有历史意义的纪念品回家,并了解弗里德尔·卡拉斯曼和市民委员会如此努力保存这种历史交通工具的原因。

现在,您已了解San Francisco 最好的博物馆,使用 San Francisco CityPASS 。San Francisco CityPASS 包括 7天Muni 全城交通通票,以及 预付票前往California Academy of SciencesBlue & Gold Fleet Bay Cruise(在Alcatraz 游轮售票处购买Francisco CityPASS的游客 可换为 Alcatraz Island导览),您可以在 Aquarium of the BayMonterey Bay Aquarium之中选择其一,和在 The de Young 与Legion of Honor Fine Arts Museums The Exploratorium选择其一。一些特殊展览并不包括在CityPASS中并且可能需要额外的费用。

CityPASS 可以在网上或在任何我们参与 旧金山景点的地方购买。使用 San Francisco CityPASS 发现顶级博物馆和 在旧金山做的事情

缆车博物馆照片来源:
荣誉殿堂和德扬博物馆 图片由旧金山美术博物馆提供

San Francisco CityPASS 基于 4.7/52611 而有。

Menu Cart
FAQ en

San Francisco

Top Museums In San Francisco

Save 49% on admission to the top San Francisco attractions plus unlimited cable car rides with CityPASS.

World-class art collections, interactive science exhibits and everything you ever wanted to know about cable car systems, San Francisco has a diverse museum scene. Where else is there an aquarium, rainforest, planetarium and natural history museum rolled into one? Beyond the exhibits, many of the museums offer breathtaking views of the bay and the city’s best parks. Here are the most iconic museum stops to include on your itinerary.


What better way to learn and absorb the information you are seeing than to be able to interact with it? At the Exploratorium in San Francisco, visitors get to do just that.

The Exploratorium has more than 600 interactive indoor and outdoor exhibits created by staff scientists and artists. It has been characterized as, "a mad scientist’s penny arcade, a scientific funhouse, and an experimental laboratory all rolled into one" (7x7 Magazine).

Fun Fact
The Exploratorium was the first ever science museum to build a website. It launched in December of 1993. The Exploratorium has had such an impact on learning that 80% of science centers, around the world have used or are using Exploratorium exhibits, programs, or ideas in their work.

What to Do
With six galleries to explore, there is an interactive exhibit for everybody. Even if you’re not a scientist, you probably have a few unanswered questions about the world, scientific phenomenon, or both. The Exploratorium is likely to answer at least one of those burning questions.

In the Bernard and Barbro Osher West Gallery, visitors can delve into the mysteries of human memory, emotion, judgment, and perception. The Tactile Dome is an engaging exhibit that allows visitors to explore and make their way through a series of textures in total darkness using only their sense of touch as a guide. Reservations are required as this exhibit is in constant high demand. For CityPASS holders, ticket prices for the Tactile Dome are reduced to $15.

Because each gallery within the Exploratorium is so different from the next, it’s difficult to determine a "best" exhibit. In the Bechtel Central Gallery, visitors can explore sight and sound with several unique exhibits such as "Bright Black," where visitors are led to believe that an object is white before discovering that the object is quite dark. The Tinkering Studio in the South Gallery has been one of the most popular exhibits for both children and adults, allowing visitors to engage in hands-on workshop activities. Visitors can build, hack, transform, and experiment — and the activities are always changing.

There are six different galleries, each focusing on a different field: social behavior, touch, vision and light, the living world, the local environment and global phenomena, and wind, water, and tides. It’s easy to spend a whole day in the Exploratorium!

Know Before You Go
To get the most out of your visit, plan to spend the whole day there so you get the chance to fully immerse yourself in each of the gallery spaces. Adults can enjoy "Exploratorium After Dark" a strictly 18+ event that takes place the first Thursday of every month from 6:00pm to 10:00pm. At this special event, adults can sip on a cocktail and engage in innovative and interactive scientific and artistic presentations.

California Academy of Sciences

The California Academy of Sciences is an entirely immersive experience that takes visitors through a rainforest, the deep blue sea, and the bright stars of the universe.

The California Academy of Sciences houses over 26 million specimens and is one of the largest natural science museums in the world. The California Academy of Sciences is also a renowned educational institution known for its innovative programs. This museum is the only place in the world to combine the wonders of an aquarium, planetarium, and natural history museum in one location.

Fun Fact
Over 40,000 animals make their home at the California Academy of Sciences. It was founded in 1853, just three years after California gained statehood, and was rebuilt in 2008 to include a sod roof that provides a habitat for native plants. Skylights bathe the museum in natural light.

What to Do
Animals bring smiles to people’s faces. Some adorable, waddling characters have made the California Academy of Sciences their home, and are a part of the great educational experience the Academy provides to visitors of all ages. Penguin feedings are recurring events at the Academy. Watch as a biologist feeds these magnificent creatures and partake in an educational Q&A all the while. This event is great for kids and adults.

The Osher Rainforest is a four-story leafy haven that takes visitors on a journey through the colorful life that inhabits the rainforest. Exotic birds, wild amphibians, and huge Amazonian fish are all highlights of this fantastic exhibit. Once inside the dome, visitors will see a 90 ft. stretch of lush, green rainforest above. The spiral path inside takes guests up through three distinct ecosystems of rainforest. The first ecosystem is a Bornean forest floor, the second is a Madagascan mid-story, and the third is a canopy of the Costa Rican forest. After you explore the top, you can take an elevator down below the surface of the forest floor to view the flooded Amazon. Once there you can see the light above you shining through the water and onto the scales of the Amazonian fish.

Step into the Shake House to feel what San Francisco’s two biggest earthquakes felt like – the 6.9 magnitude Loma Prieta quake and the 7.9 magnitude Great San Francisco quake of 1906.

Know Before You Go
If you plan to see a show at the Planetarium, book your show upon arriving. Looking for an even more personal experience? Take the behind-the-scenes tour and understand the Academy’s role in research, scientific exploration, and dedication to education as you dig a little deeper into the heart of the museum, aquarium, and rainforest. Adults can enjoy a night at the museum full of music, creatures, and cocktails every Thursday from 6:00 to 10:00pm. Oh, and say hi to Claude the albino alligator.

de Young Museum

Located in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge Park, the de Young Museum is a wonderful attraction brimming with global artwork. From the extensive collection of 17th century to 20th century American art, to the prized works of Native American and African artists, the de Young Museum provides visitors with an enriching and inspiring experience. The building itself is a sight to see, as it weaves into the natural environment of the park and incorporates historic elements of the older buildings into the new design.

Fun Fact
The de Young collections have been relocated twice due to natural disasters. The great earthquake of 1906 caused significant damage to the original building, and the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake resulted in the creation of an entirely new, privately-financed institution that would be structurally safe and sound and suit the needs of the growing collections within. The new building’s facade is composed of 950,000 lbs. of copper, 300,000 lbs. of glass, and 7,200 copper panels with 1,500,000 embossings.

What to Do
With many temporary exhibits moving through the de Young, there is always something new to see. The museum is the foremost museum on the West Coast for its collection of American and African textiles and costumes. What makes de Young unique is the organization of collections. Rather than organizing pieces in one collection by geographical location, various works of art from around the world are gathered into collections based on a unifying theme. This way, visitors can see the significance of the pieces, as well as similarities to other pieces of art from different regions of the globe.

The American paintings collection, as well as the African art collection, are popular exhibits within the de Young Museum. The African art collection has expanded substantially since its beginnings. What once was a random selection of bold, expressionistic works is now an impressive collection that boasts enough work to unify the pieces thematically. The American paintings cover artwork from various time periods and regions with the Americas, and is organized chronologically. From Native American and Spanish colonial to Neoclassical and impressionist, there is much to see and be amazed by at the de Young. For those looking for an outdoor excursion, the sculpture garden is a pleasant and peaceful way to appreciate art outside the walls of the Museum. The garden features the original sphinx sculptures of the de Young Museum, as well as the Pool of Enchantment.

Visit the Harmon Tower for panoramic views, which is nine floors up. From here, you can see the Golden Gate Bridge, the living roof of the California Academy of Sciences, and a view unlike any other in San Francisco.

Know Before You Go
Visit on Wednesdays between 1:00pm and 5:00pm to meet the artists, a free event in a working art studio. There are also children’s programs for younger enthusiasts and Friday Nights at the de Young for adult enthusiasts, where food and cocktails are available to purchase. The museum is generally closed on Mondays, with a couple of exceptions. Check the calendar for special hours. There are audio tours available at the audio guide kiosk.

Legion of Honor

Located in the heart of San Francisco’s Lincoln Park, the Legion of Honor Museum shines inside and out with 4,000 years of ancient and European art, brilliant French neoclassical architecture, robust statues, and an unbeatable view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the San Francisco cityscape.

The de Young and the Legion of Honor combine to create the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco institution. The Legion of Honor was built to commemorate Californian soldiers who died in WWI, and as a replica of the Légion d'Honneur in Paris.

Fun Fact
The de Young and the Legion of Honor combine to create the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco institution. The Legion of Honor was built to commemorate Californian soldiers who died in WWI, and as a replica of the The Legion of Honor holds one of the largest collections of drawings and prints in the US and is the museum featured in Hitchcock’s film, Vertigo. The famed statue that rests in front of the Museum, The Thinker, by Auguste Rodin, is not actually the thinker but a thinker, one of many. Rodin commissioned work from Henri Lebosse, under Rodin’s supervision. There are in fact multiple Thinkers around the United States and several sprinkled throughout the world, giving nearly every corner of the globe a thinker of their own.

What to Do
In the Legion of Honor, there is a gallery dedicated specifically to the various works of Rodin, including over 100 sculptures. And within the Rodin Gallery is the Skinner Organ, a pipe organ made to emulate the sounds of an orchestra without the need for multiple musicians. The thunderous music is rich and full in the high ceilings and wide space of the Museum, and visitors can enjoy a free concert held every Saturday and Sunday at 4pm while enjoying magnificent art. Performers play everything from Bach to Hollywood film scores and each concert resonates through the air of the grand museum.

The Legion of Honor’s collection consists of more than 124,000 works from world renowned artists such as Renoir, Monet, Picasso, Degas, van Dyck, Rembrandt, Hals, Rubens, van Gogh, Cezanne, Gainsborough, and El Greco. The European decorative arts, ancient Mediterranean art, impressive sculptures and paintings, and the vast collection of paper drawings have put the Legion of Honor on the list of some of the best museums in the world. The classical paintings and other various works of art are made even more memorable hanging in a beautifully designed building atop land with a remarkable view.

Know Before You Go
Take a free docent tour with admission Tuesday through Sunday. For an interactive and educational experience, download the mobile app, which provides visitors with a detailed 3-D map that guides visitors through the chronological collection, enlightening them with interesting tidbits of information along the way.


San Francisco lives and breathes art, and modern art emulates the spirit of San Francisco. And so, the recently expanded SFMoMA, the California equal to its New York big sister, is the collective home of all things modern art.

After nearly three years of being closed for renovations, the new SFMoMA is a one-of-a-kind Museum complete with a 235,000 square foot addition and over seven floors of gallery space, making the SFMoMA the largest museum in Northern California and one of the biggest in the world.

Fun Fact
The new building includes 45,000 square feet of space that’s free for the public to access. This makes SFMoMA a vital cultural and social hub of art in the heart of San Francisco. It’s also the first museum on the West Coast to be devoted entirely to modern and contemporary art, opening back in 1935.

What to Do
The SFMoMA has been applauded for its excellent curation and organization. The seemingly infinite open space, sophisticated architecture, and unique collections make SFMoMA one of the best museums in the world. Some visitors have claimed that after renovation, the SFMoMA is even better than its New York contemporary.

Temporary exhibits expose lesser-known artists to the public eye. However, SFMoMA's permanent collection brings together the beloved work of such artists as Chuck Close, Andy Warhol, Frida Kahlo, Roy Lichtenstein, and many others. But perhaps the SFMoMa's most prized permanent feature is its Living Wall. The Living Wall is a combined force of art and nature, inspiring creativity with the varied colors and textures in horticulture but also providing visitors with a beautiful break from the enclosed walls of the museum. The Living Wall is made up of several different plant species. Each section of the wall features different plants, and with nature’s habit of cyclical change, the wall is unlikely to be the same one visit to the next. Unlike a painting, the Living Wall is always moving. While you explore the grand space of SFMoMA, find the time to take a lush respite outside and gaze at the green wonders of the Living Wall.

Inside, you'll see the largest gallery, research, and interpretive space devoted to photography of any art museum in the United States. You'll also see works by San Francisco natives, and a 200-ton sculpture called "Sequence" that the new building was designed around.

Know Before You Go
For those who are unsure of the world of modern art and would like a "sample" before diving in, the first two floors of the SFMoMA are free to explore. Take a 45-minute guided tour of the museum free with admission. Dozens of visitors to the SFMoMA have recommended downloading the amazing SFMoMA app and exploring the space on your own. The audio in combination with the indoor tracking and positioning technology tell visitors about every piece of art they come across in the museum. With a variety of renowned hosts, visitors can also take an immersive narrative through the museum. There are also regular live performances at SFMoMA.

Cable Car Museum

San Francisco is visualized by outsiders as the hilly, foggy city with the Golden Gate Bridge and iconic cable cars. Nothing shouts "San Francisco" quite as loudly as the Cable Car Museum. It's the only place in the world where you will get the chance to explore the historic transportation that draws visitors to the city each and every year.

Before the 20th century, all of the railroad companies had a combined 53 miles of track stretching across the Bay Area. But in 1906, the Great Earthquake and Fire destroyed most of the city. As the city was slowly brought back from the ashes, the electric streetcar became the favored mode of transportation as it was easier and cheaper to build and maintain, and faster all around. The Cable Car Museum is dedicated to this most-loved mode of transportation.

Fun Fact
In 1947, the city’s then-mayor declared that all cable car lines should be eradicated because every other means of transportation (mainly buses) were less expensive by comparison. But Friedel Klussmann could not accept that. She founded the Citizens’ Committee to Save the Cable Cars. The committee was able to prove to the City of San Francisco that the value of the cable car outweighed their operational cost. And she was right. San Francisco's cable cars are the last working system of their kind in the world, making them both a fun tourist attraction and functional way to move around the city.

What to Do
The history of the cable car in San Francisco is fascinating. Within the museum are various artifacts and photographs that take visitors on a timeline from conception to reality. You'll see old models of cable cars including three antique cable cars from the 1870s. Learn a little bit about the engineering behind the cable cars as you peruse the mechanical devices that power the cable car system.

Almost anyone who has visited the Cable Car Museum is fascinated by the impressive pulley system that is behind it all. From the deck above, visitors witness the engines and wheels at work. Down below, you can witness the cables actually being pulled through the channel under the street. After you’ve learned a little bit about the history and engineering of the cable car, seeing everything come together in mechanical action will make your cable car experience all the more enjoyable.

Know Before You Go
There is always free admission to the Cable Car Museum. It is open every day from 10:00am to 6:00pm April through October, and from 10:00am to 5:00pm November through March. There is a store within the museum where visitors can purchase unique memorabilia pertaining specifically to cable cars. Take home a little bit of history and see why Friedel Klussmann and the committee that fought so hard to keep these beautiful relics up and running.

Now that you know about the best San Francisco museums, use San Francisco CityPASS and save nearly half off combined admission prices to some of the museums listed above as well as other top attractions in San Francisco. San Francisco CityPASS includes a 7-day Muni and Cable Car Passport, as well as prepaid admission to the California Academy of Sciences, a Blue & Gold Fleet Bay Cruise (visitors who purchase their San Francisco CityPASS at the Alcatraz Cruises ticket office may substitute an Alcatraz Island tour), your choice between Aquarium of the Bay or Monterey Bay Aquarium, and either the de Young and Legion of Honor Fine Arts Museums or the Exploratorium. Some special exhibits are not included with CityPASS and may require an extra fee.

CityPASS can be purchased online or at any of our participating San Francisco attractions. Use San Francisco CityPASS and discover the top museums and things to do in San Francisco.

Cable Car Museum Photo Credit
Legion of Honor and de Young Museum Images courtesy of Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco

San Francisco CityPASS has a rating of 4.7/5 based on 2,269 reviews.